Habla Espanol Available 24/7 704.350.2630
NC Personal Injury Lawyers

Car Insurance Requirements in North Carolina

Every state requires its drivers to carry proof of car insurance. However, the requirements vary from state to state. In North Carolina, drivers must show proof of sufficient liability.

According to the law, your insurance coverage must provide a minimum of:

  • $30,000 per injured person in an accident you were at fault for
  • $60,000 for total bodily injury liability of more 2 or more individuals are in an accident you were at fault for
  • $25,000 for property damage for an accident you were at fault for

Other Car Insurance Requirements

The basic coverage provided by this insurance will pay for medical expenses and other costs related to the accident, up to the limits of your insurance coverage. Although it is not required, it is recommended for drivers to carry greater coverage to afford more substantial protection in the event of a severe accident.

Additionally, drivers in North Carolina must carry both uninsured motorist bodily coverage and uninsured motorist property damage insurance. Depending on how much coverage you have under this policy, underinsured motorist coverage might also be required. Having this form of coverage is crucial if you end up injured in a motor vehicle accident with an uninsured driver or a driver whose liability policy cannot cover the full extent of your losses.

A “Fault” State

In North Carolina, the person who was at fault for the accident is on the hook for compensating those who were injured as a result. Of course, the at-fault individual’s insurance provider would be the one footing the bill for these losses, up to the policy’s limits.

If you were injured in a motor vehicle that was not your fault, you have a few options for recovering compensation:

  • File a claim with your insurance company, assuming your policy covers the loss (which will likely lead to them pursuing a subrogation)
  • File a third-party claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company
  • File a personal injury lawsuit against the driver who caused the accident

In no-fault states, drivers do not have the same range of options available to them. Instead, you would have to go through your insurance company for the payment of medical expenses and other costs, no matter who caused the accident. If your claim goes up to certain statutory limits, you could file a claim against the at-fault driver. Luckily, drivers in North Carolina do not have these concerns.

Contact an Experienced Personal Injury Attorney!

At Price, Petho & Anderson, our personal injury attorneys will help you obtain the fair compensation you deserve if you were injured in an accident caused by someone else’s negligence. We know how devastating the aftermath of a car accident can be, which is why we are committed to helping you get back on your feet.

Contact our law office today at (704) 350-2630 to request a free consultation!

Categories: