Charlotte Hit & Run Accident Attorney
Hit and run accidents often lead to severe injuries for victims. Unfortunately, it can be difficult for hit and run victims to obtain the compensation they need after a crash. That is why the team at Price Petho & Associates P.L.L.C. is ready to stand by your side. Our Charlotte hit and run accident attorneys pledge to conduct a full investigation into the case so we can secure any compensation you may be entitled to.
Hit and run accidents can lead to devastating injuries
When we turn to data available from the North Carolina Department of Transportation, we can see that there were over 281,000 total traffic collisions reported across the state during the latest year. Out of these incidents, over 120,000 people were injured, and 1,142 people lost their lives. While we do not have exact statistics on how many hit and run accidents take place each year in North Carolina, we do know that these accidents happen regularly and that they can lead to severe injuries.
It is not uncommon for victims of hit and run accidents to sustain the following:
- Broken or dislocated bones
- Severe lacerations or puncture wounds
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Spinal cord injuries
- Whiplash or other neck and back injuries
Each of these injuries will require medical care, and victims may not be able to work while they recover. With medical expenses, lost wages, and property damage to contend with, hit and run victims need to know where to turn for compensation.
What can a hit and run victim do in NC?
Leaving the scene of an accident is a crime in North Carolina, but that does not help victims who are not sure how they will receive compensation for their losses. Securing compensation can be particularly difficult if a hit run driver is not located by law enforcement.
All drivers in North Carolina are required to carry the following insurance coverage to remain legal on the roadway:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: 25,000
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist property damage: $25,000
If a hit and run driver cannot be located, victims will need to rely on their uninsured motorist coverage to recover compensation for their losses.
If the hit and run driver is located and they have insurance, a claim can be made against their insurance carrier to recover compensation. If the at-fault driver does not have insurance or if their coverage limits are not sufficient, it may be necessary to file a personal injury lawsuit to recover the proper compensation.
Let us help you – call for a free consultation of your case today
If you or somebody you love has been injured in a hit and run accident, you may need to speak with an attorney as soon as possible. At Price Petho & Associates P.L.L.C., our team is going to conduct a complete investigation into your case so we can secure any compensation you need to get through this. This can include:
- Coverage of all crash-related medical bills
- Lost income if you are unable to work
- Any household out-of-pocket expenses you incur
- Property damage expenses
- Pain and suffering damages